Periradicular injection
The periradicular route consists of injecting the drug just at the exit of the nerve from the spine (opposite the spinal ganglion).
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Indications:
 
  • Foraminal and extraforaminal disc herniations : Foraminal and extraforaminal hernias exert a compression on the nerve at the level of its exit from the column and are therefore a good indication for this kind of infiltration.
     

  • Periradicular fibrosis : After isthmotomy (classic operation for foraminal and extraforaminal hernias) or TLIF (spondylodesis by lateral approach), there is unfortunately often a significant fibrosis (scar) in the periradicular region, which can cause pain. Periradicular infiltration can help this scar to interfere with the nerve less.

Schéma coronal transpédiculaire lombaire
Risks and disadvantages of periradicular injections:

 

  • If the needle is advanced too far, it will reach the ganglion of the nerve. It is imperative to recognize this malposition of the needle, because an injection into the spinal ganglion causes chronic pain with sensory disturbances in the form of paresthesias (tingling) and dysesthesia (sensations of burning most often to the touch). For this reason, these infiltrations must imperatively be carried out under fluoroscopic guidance .
     

  • In the event of a median or paramedian disc herniation, the indication for periradicular infiltration is questionable because the injection site is relatively far from the zone of compression on the nerve and from the herniated disc. An anatomical risk is also present, because the median and paramedian hernias compress the nerve which will come out on the underlying floor and it is therefore important not to err on the level!
     

  • A disadvantage of the periradicular route is the rapid elimination of the drug because this area is very well vascularized.

Hernie discale foraminale
Foraminal hernia :

 

  • On a radiculogram (left image), foraminal and extraforaminal herniated discs are difficult to see
     

  • On the CT-scan (right image) and MRI, foraminal and extraforaminal hernias, on the other hand, are easy to see.
     

  • A foraminal or extraforaminal L4-L5 hernia compresses the L4 root (exiting at the same level)

Hernie discale paramédiane
Paramedian hernia :

 

  • A paramedian L5-S1 hernia compresses the S1 root (exiting to the underlying level)
     

  • This is probably not a good indication for periradicular infiltration

Injection périradiculaire
La voie périradiculaire consiste à injecter le médicament juste à la sortie du nerf du la colonne (en regard du ganglion rachidien).
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 


Indications:
 
  • Hernies discales foraminales et extraforaminales: Les hernies foraminales et extraforaminales exercent une compression sur le nerf au niveau de sa sortie de la colonne et sont donc une bonne indication pour ce genre d'infiltrations.
     

  • Fibrose périradiculaire: Après isthmotomie (opération classique pour les hernies foraminales et extraforaminales) ou TLIF (spondylodèse par abord latéral), il y a malheureusement souvent une fibrose (cicatrice) importante dans la région périradiculaire, ce qui peut occasionner des douleurs. L'infiltration périradiculaire peut aider cette cicatrice à moins gêner le nerf.

Risques et désavantages des injections périradiculaires:

 

  • Si l'aiguille est avancée trop profondément, elle va atteindre le ganglion du nerf. Il est impératif de reconnaître cette malposition de l'aiguille, car une injection dans le ganglion rachidien entraîne des douleurs chroniques avec troubles sensitifs sous forme de paresthésies (fourmillements) et dysesthésies (sensations de brûlure au toucher le plus souvent). Pour cette raison, ces infiltrations doivent impérativement être effectuées sous guidage radioscopique.
     

  • En cas de hernie discale médiane ou paramédiane, l'indication à une infiltration périradiculaire est discutable car le site d'injection est relativement loin de la zone de compression sur le nerf et de la hernie discale. Un risque anatomique  est également présent, car les hernies médianes et paramédianes compriment le nerf qui va sortir à l'étage sous-jacent et il ne faut donc pas se tromper de niveau !
     

  • Un désavantage de la voie périradiculaire est l'élimination rapide du médicament car cette zone est très bien vascularisée.

Hernie discale foraminale
Hernie foraminale:

 

  • Sur une radiculographie (image de gauche), les hernies discales foraminales et extraforaminales sont difficiles à voir
     

  • Sur les CT-scan (image de droite) et IRM, les hernies foraminales et extraforaminales sont par contre faciles à voir
     

  • Une hernie L4-L5 foraminale ou extraforaminale comprime la racine L4 (sortant au même niveau)

Hernie discale paramédiane
Hernie paramédiane:

 

  • Une hernie L5-S1 paramédiane comprime la racine S1 (sortant au niveau sous-jacent)
     

  • Il ne s'agit probablement pas d'une bonne indication pour une infiltration périradiculaire