Pumps for intrathecal drug delivery
Pompes: matériel et opération
Anatomie d'une pompe à morphine
Radiographie d'une pompe à morphine
Programmeur (ancien) pour pompe à morphine
Programmeur (nouveau) pour pompe à morphine
 
Pumps: instructions for patients
These instructions concern patients operated on by our team. Each center has its own treatment protocols and they may differ from the instructions below.
Preparation before the operation:
  • Anti-aggregating drugs like Aspirin or Plavix must be stopped 10 days before the date of the operation. However, you must make sure with your doctor or your cardiologist that this stop is not risky. If stopping is not possible, you should inform your surgeon and anesthesiologist to see if the planned operation is being continued on the scheduled date.
  • Anticoagulant drugs like Sintrom should be stopped 1 week before the date of the operation. Crossbreeding with heparin injections (eg Fraxiparine, Fragmin) will be performed under the supervision of your attending physician. A 60% PT is required for the procedure. However, you must make sure with your doctor or your cardiologist that this stop is not risky. Modern anticoagulant drugs like Xarelto should be stopped 2 days before the date of the operation. If a stop is not possible, you should inform your surgeon and your anesthesiologist to see if the planned operation is being continued on the planned date.
  • You should bring a list of your usual medications for the procedure. If your treatment is not common, consider taking the medicines themselves as well.
  • In the event of a known allergy , please inform the nursing team and the anesthesiologist even if it is already in your file. Certain allergies may require a specific allergological assessment and lead to postponement of the procedure.
Postoperative consequences:
 
  • During a first pump implantation or during a catheter revision, it is necessary to keep the position in bed on the back for 4 hours to facilitate hemostasis, then it is possible to turn on the side en bloc. For pump changes, you can adopt the position that suits you to minimize postoperative pain.
  • You must get up as a whole and the physiotherapist and / or the nurse will accompany you for the first awakenings. It is advisable to move your legs in bed before getting up to limit the risk of orthostatic hypotension (pressure drop when getting up).
Wound - scar:
 
  • The scar will be more beautiful if it is not exposed to the sun for 1 year after the operation. Remember to protect it either with clothes or with a total screen.
  • Steristrips should be kept until check-up 3 weeks postoperatively.
  • The threads are absorbable and do not have to be removed .
  • In case of discharge and / or fever , please call the secretariat immediately (021 923 3848) or in case of unavailability your attending physician, the hospital where you had the operation or the emergency department of a hospital near your home.
Medicines:
 
  • Usual drugs should be continued as before the operation, with the exception of narcotics. Narcotics (Tramal, Oxynorm, Targin, MST, Durogésic, ...) are not compatible with intrathecal morphine administered by the pump and are formally contraindicated outside a specialized environment .
  • Anti-aggregating drugs such as Aspirin or Plavix can be resumed the day after the operation.
  • Anticoagulant drugs such as Sintrom can be resumed as early as 2 days after the operation. The same goes for modern blood thinners like Xarelto.
  • Non-narcotic analgesics (Dafalgan, Irfen, ...) should only be taken in the event of pain; they are not compulsory and do not influence healing in the proper sense.
  • Great care should be taken with all drugs with a primary or secondary sedative effect, as the sedative effect is potentiated by the intrathecal morphine administered by the pump. Usual doses can therefore lead to deep sedation or even coma. The intake of medication from the following categories should be discussed with your specialist:

    - Sleeping pills (Seresta, Temesta, Stilnox ...)
    - Antidepressants (Sarotene, ...)
    - Neuroleptics (Nozinan, Haldol, ...)
    - Antiepileptics (Lyrica, Neurontin, Trileptal, Rivotril, ...)
    - Muscle relaxants (Sirdalud, ...)
    - Antihistamines (Zyrtec, ...)
Return home: In addition to this, you need to know more about it.
  • Please check that you have enough medication at home for the day of your return, especially before a weekend or holiday.
  • Please check that you have received (if necessary):
    • prescription for pain medication
    • the prescription for physiotherapy (not systematic)
    • the order for the caregiver at home (make contact before the intervention)
    • work stoppage
    • the date and time of the next check-up
Physical activities and side effects of treatment:
 
  • Walking is the best physical activity. . It is however preferable to privilege the frequency to the duration. Thus, it is generally better supported to walk 4 x 15 minutes per day rather than going for an hour-long walk per day.
  • Heels between 1 and 4 cm are most suitable for the back, but have no direct effect on drug delivery by the pump.
  • You must respect the limits dictated by your body , because an excess of activity one day almost always leads to a limitation of the activity on the following days with a negative overall balance.
  • The effect of intrathecal morphine depends on the position of the body. The central side effects (drowsiness, nausea, vomiting, confusion, ...) are increased when lying down and reduced when standing. If these side effects are present, it is therefore necessary to avoid the natural reflex of wanting to lie down and to prefer sitting or walking.
  • Intrathecal morphine can cause intense itching when starting treatment (direct histamine-liberating effect). This side effect goes away quickly and should be trivialized.
  • Intrathecal morphine can cause a urinary balloon when starting treatment. If you have difficulty urinating, you should go to a doctor who can perform a urinary catheterization if necessary (for example a medical clinic)
  • Morphine slows down transit and thus promotes constipation (although this side effect is less marked in intrathecal administration). This side effect should be compensated for by:
    - frequent walking
    - good hydration
    - a diet rich in fiber
Sport:
 
  • Resuming sports activities should not cause the onset or increase of pain, but early resumption is desirable so as not to lose too much muscle.
  • Brisk walking remains the best sport activity. In case of balance disorders or subjective insecurity, the use of Nordic walking poles is recommended.
  • Swimming is possible, but only after a period of one week after the removal of the threads and provided that the wound has healed normally.
  • Running is possible from 1 month, but avoiding asphalt. Prefer running in the forest or on a Finnish track, for example.
  • Downhill skiing or snowboarding is possible between 1 and 3 months.
  • Snowshoeing is excellent and can be started after 1 month.
  • The bike can be picked up within one month of the operation.
Job:
 
  • You are at least on complete sick leave until the postoperative check-up at 3 weeks, then according to your assessment.
  • As a general rule, the average duration of complete sick leave for this type of intervention is 1 to 2 months. A part-time recovery usually follows this period of total stoppage.   
Transport:
 
  • Car trips should not exceed 30 consecutive minutes in the 1st month. If a longer trip is required, take a break after 30 minutes and walk at least 10 minutes during this break. A longer journey is not only painful, but it increases the risk of deep vein thrombosis (which is already temporarily increased by the operation).
  • The most suitable means of transport is the train . The bus and the plane are possible and better supported than the car.
  • When a journey is feasible on foot, do not take the car!
Night:
 
  • The prone position is not well tolerated and is not recommended.
  • The recommended type of mattress is either very hard or "memory" type Tempur
  • While lying on the back, it is necessary to put a cushion under the knees to avoid lumbar hyperlordosis and while lying on the side, it is necessary to put a cushion between the knees to prevent rotation of the pelvis.
      
Radiological examinations:
 
  • Your intervention does not contraindicate any subsequent radiological examination. X-rays, a CT-scan or an ultrasound are perfectly possible in the event of a medical indication. No special precautions are necessary for these radiological examinations. For an MRI, it is recommended to empty the pump beforehand and to fill it with physiological solution even if theoretically the pump supports the MRI well. We must therefore synchronize the examination with 2 visits to our center (to empty, then to refill the pump)
       
Physiotherapy:
 
  • Physiotherapy is prescribed by a doctor and is not normally required for such an operation.
  • In most cases, we assess its indication for control at 3 weeks after the operation.
  • Whenever possible, choose a physiotherapist near your home to avoid a car trip to get there.
    .
Various:
 
  • It is possible to shower with the special dressing that has been applied, but it should be dried well by dabbing afterwards. Do not rub so as not to peel off the dressing and steristrips.
  • It is best to wait 4 days after removing the dressing to take a bath.
  • Driving a vehicle is possible for usual doses of intrathecal morphine, but you must first have found your cruising dose. It is therefore not recommended to drive the first 3 months. When resuming driving, you should test your ability to drive in an empty parking lot. In case of doubt, you must consider yourself unfit to drive until a medical examination giving the green light.
  • It is possible to resume sex as soon as you get home, but it is better to make your partner work.

Pompes pour administration intrathécale de médicaments
Pompes: matériel et opération
 
Pompes: instructions pour les opérés
Ces instructions concernent les patients opérés par notre équipe. Chaque centre a ses propres protocoles de soin et ils peuvent différer des instructions ci-dessous.
Préparation avant l’opération:
 
  • Les médicaments antiagrégants comme l’Aspirine ou le Plavix doivent être arrêtés 10 jours avant la date de l’intervention. Il faut toutefois s'assurer avec votre médecin-traitant ou votre cardiologue que cet arrêt ne soit pas risqué. Si un arrêt n'est pas possible, il faut en informer votre chirurgien et votre anesthésiste pour savoir si l'opération prévue est maintenue à la date prévue.
     
  • Les médicaments anticoagulants comme le Sintrom doivent être arrêtés 1 semaine avant la date de l’intervention. Un croisement avec des injections d’héparine (ex: Fraxiparine, Fragmin) sera effectué sous la supervision de votre médecin-traitant. Un TP de 60% est requis pour l’intervention. Il faut toutefois s'assurer avec votre médecin-traitant ou votre cardiologue que cet arrêt ne soit pas risqué. Les médicaments anticoagulants modernes comme le Xarelto doivent être arrêtés 2 jours avant la date de l'intervention. Si un arrêt n'est pas possible, il faut en informer votre chirurgien et votre anesthésiste pour savoir si l'opération prévue est maintenue à la date prévue.
     
  • Il faut apporter la liste de vos médicaments habituels pour l’intervention. Si votre traitement n’est pas courant, pensez à prendre également les médicaments eux-mêmes.
     
  • En cas d’allergie connue, veuillez les annoncer à l’équipe infirmière et à l’anesthésiste même si cela figure déjà dans votre dossier. Certaines allergies peuvent nécessiter un bilan allergologique spécifique et entraîner un report de l'intervention.
     
Suites postopératoires:
 
  • Lors d'une première implantation de pompe ou lors d'une révision du cathéter, il faut garder la position au lit sur le dos pendant 4 heures pour faciliter l’hémostase, ensuite il est possible de se tourner sur le côté en bloc. Pour les changements de pompe, vous pouvez adopter la position qui vous convient afin de minimiser les douleurs postopératoires.
     
  • Le lever doit se faire en bloc et le physiothérapeute et/ou l'infirmière vous accompagnera pour les premiers levers. Il est souhaitable de bouger les jambes dans le lit avant de se lever pour limiter le risque d'hypotension orthostatique (chute de pression en se levant).
     
Plaie - cicatrice:
 
  • La cicatrice sera plus belle si elle n’est pas exposée au soleil pendant 1 année après l’opération. Pensez à la protéger soit avec des habits soit avec de l’écran total.
     
  • Les stéristrips doivent être gardés jusqu’au contrôle à 3 semaines postopératoires.
     
  • Les fils sont résorbables et ne doivent pas être enlevés.
     
  • En cas d’écoulement et/ou de fièvre, veuillez appeler immédiatement le secrétariat (021 923 3848) ou en cas d’indisponibilité votre médecin-traitant, l'hôpital où vous avez été opéré ou les urgences d’un hôpital proche de votre domicile.
     
Médicaments:
 
  • Les médicaments usuels doivent être poursuivis comme avant l’intervention à l'exception des narcotiques. Les narcotiques (Tramal, Oxynorm, Targin, MST, Durogésic, ...) ne sont pas compatibles avec la morphine intrathécale administrée par la pompe et sont formellement contre-indiqués hors d'un milieu spécialisé.
     
  • Les médicaments antiagrégants comme l’Aspirine ou le Plavix peuvent être repris dès le lendemain de l’intervention.
     
  • Les médicaments anticoagulants comme le Sintrom peuvent être repris dès 2 jours après l’intervention. Il en va de même pour les anticoagulants modernes comme le Xarelto.
     
  • Les médicaments antalgiques non narcotiques (Dafalgan, Irfen, ...) ne doivent être pris qu’en cas de douleurs; ils ne sont pas obligatoires et n'influencent pas la guérison au sens propre.
     
  • Il convient d'être très prudent avec tous les médicaments à effet sédatif primaire ou secondaire, car l'effet sédatif est potentialisé par la morphine intrathécale administrée par la pompe. Des doses usuelles peuvent dès lors entrainer une sédation profonde, voire un coma. La prise de médicament des catégories suivantes devraient être discutée avec votre spécialiste:

    - Somnifères (Seresta, Temesta, Stilnox, ...)
    - Antidépresseurs (Sarotène, ...)
    - Neuroleptiques (Nozinan, Haldol, ...)
    - Antiépileptiques (Lyrica, Neurontin, Trileptal, Rivotril, ...)
    - Myorelaxants (Sirdalud, ...)
    - Antihistaminiques (Zyrtec, ...)

     
Retour à domicile:
 
  • Veuillez contrôler que vous ayez suffisamment de médicaments à domicile pour le jour de votre retour, particulièrment avant un week-end ou un férié.
     
  • Veuillez contrôler que vous ayez reçu (si besoin): 
     
    • l’ordonnance pour les médicaments antalgique
    • l’ordonnance pour la physiothérapie (pas systématique)
    • l’ordonnance pour l’aide-familiale à domicile (prendre contact avant l'intervention)
    • l’arrêt de travail 
    • la date et l'heure du prochain rendez-vous de contrôle
       
Activités physiques et effets secondaires du traitement:
 
  • La marche est la meilleure activité physique.. Il est toutefois préférable de privilégier la fréquence à la durée. Ainsi, il est en règle générale mieux supporté de marcher 4 x 15 min par jour plutôt que de faire une promenade d’une heure par jour.
     
  • Des talons entre 1 et 4 cm sont les plus appropriés pour le dos, mais n'ont pas d'effet direct sur l'administration de médicaments par la pompe.
     
  • Il faut respecter les limites dictées par son corps, car un excès d’activité un jour entraîne presque toujours une limitation de l’activité les jours suivants avec un bilan global négatif.
     
  • L'effet de la morphine intrathécale dépend de la position du corps. Les effets secondaires centraux (somnolence, nausées, vomissements, confusion, ...) sont augmentés en position couchée et diminués en positin debout. Si ces effets secondaires sont présents, il faut donc éviter le réflexe naturel de vouloir se coucher et préférer la position assise ou la marche.
     
  • La morphine intrathécale peut provoquer un prurit intense lors du début du traitement (effet direct histamino-libérateur). Cet effet secondaire disparaît rapidement et doit être banalisé.
     
  • La morphine intrathécale peut provoquer un globe urinaire en début de traitement. Si vous avez de la difficulté à uriner, il faut se rendre chez un médecin pouvant effectuer un sondage urinaire au besoin (par exemple une policlinique médicale)
     
  • La morphine ralentit le transit et favorise ainsi la constipation (même si cet effet secondaire est moins marqué en administration intrathécale). Il convient de compenser cet effet secondaire par:
    - une marche fréquente
    - une bonne hydratation
    - une alimentation riche en fibres

     
Sport:
 
  • La reprise des activités sportives ne doit pas causer d’apparition ou d’augmentation des douleurs, mais une reprise précoce est souhaitable pour ne pas perdre trop de musculature.
     
  • La marche soutenue reste la meilleure activité sportive. En cas de troubles de l'équilibre ou d'insécurité subjective, l'usage de bâtons de nordic walking est recommandé.
     
  • La natation est possible, mais seulement après un délai d'une semaine après l'ablation des fils et pour autant que la plaie ait guéri normalement.
     
  • La course à pied est possible dès 1 mois, mais en évitant le bitume. Préférez la course en forêt ou sur piste finlandaise par exemple.
     
  • Le ski de piste ou le snowboard sont possible entre 1 et 3 mois.
     
  • La raquette est excellente et peut être débutée après 1 mois.
     
  • Le vélo peut être repris à un mois de l’opération.
     
Travail:
 
  • Vous êtes à l’arrêt de travail complet au minimum jusqu’au contrôle postopératoire à 3 semaines, puis selon appréciation.
     
  • En règle générale, la durée moyenne d’arrêt de travail complet pour ce type d’intervention est de 1 à 2 mois. Une reprise à temps partiel suit habituellement cette période d’arrêt total.  
     
Transports:
 
  • Les trajets en voiture ne devraient pas dépasser 30 minutes consécutives le 1er mois. Si un trajet plus long est requis, faites une pause après 30 minutes et marchez au moins 10 minutes lors de cette pause. Un trajet plus long n'est pas seulement douloureux, mais cela augmente le risque de thrombose veineuse profonde (qui est déjà temporairement augmenté par l'opération).
     
  • Le moyen de transport le plus approprié est le train. Le bus et l’avion sont possibles et mieux supportés que la voiture.
     
  • Lorsqu’un trajet est faisable à pied, ne prenez pas la voiture !
     
Nuit:
 
  • La position à plat ventre n’est pas bien tolérée et n’est pas recommandée.
     
  • Le type de matelas recommandé est soit très dur, soit «à mémoire» type Tempur
     
  • En  étant couché sur le dos, il faut mettre un coussin sous les genoux pour éviter l’hyperlordose lombaire et en étant couché sur le côté, il faut mettre un coussin entre les genoux pour éviter la rotation du bassin.
      
Examens radiologiques:
 
  • Votre intervention ne contre-indique aucun examen radiologique ultérieur. Des radiographies, un CT-scan ou un ultrason sont parfaitement réalisables en cas d’indication médicale. Aucune précaution particulière n’est nécessaire pour ces examens radiologiques. Pour une IRM, il est recommandé de vider la pompe préalablement et de remplir celle-ci de solution physiologique même si théoriquement la pompe supporte bien l'IRM. Il faut donc synchroniser l'examen avec 2 visites dans notre centre (pour vider, puis pour remplir à nouveau la pompe)
       
Physiothérapie:
 
  • La physiothérapie est prescrite sur ordonnance médicale et n'est normalement pas requise pour une opération de ce type.
     
  • Dans la plupart des cas, nous évaluons son indication au contrôle à 3 semaines après l'intervention.
     
  • Dans la mesure du possible, choisissez un physiothérapeute proche de votre domicile pour éviter un trajet en voiture pour s’y rendre
    .
Divers:
 
  • Il est possible de se doucher avec le pansement spécial qui a été appliqué, mais il convient de bien sécher en tamponnant ensuite. Il ne faut pas frotter pour ne pas décoller le pansement et les stéristrips.
     
  • Il est préférable d’attendre 4 jours après l’ablation du pansement pour prendre un bain.
     
  • La conduite d'un véhicule est possible pour des doses usuelles de morphine intrathécale, mais il faut d'abord avoir trouvé sa dose de croisière. Il n'est dès lors pas recommandé de conduire les 3 premiers mois. Lors de la reprise de la conduite, il convient de tester son aptitude à conduire dans un parking désert. En cas de doute, il faut se considérer inapte à conduire jusqu'à un examen médical donnant le feu vert.
     
  • Il est possible de reprendre des relations sexuelles dès votre retour à domicile, mais il est préférable de faire travailler votre partenaire.